concluded | Projects Comments Off

Adenauer and the ‘Narrative of the centre’

Print Friendly

Icon_52_Rand_orange

This study reconstructs the development of the historical narrative that Konrad Adenauer communicated in his public statements about National Socialism and the role of the Germans in it. It can be expressed in the succinct formula that the misdeeds of the regime had been committed “not by the German people but in their name”. In these few words we see the kernel of a historical narrative that was the general consensus for a long time in West German politics.

The end of the Second World War plunged German society into a profound identity crisis. The downfall of the Reich, the partition of Germany, the towns in ruins, millions of people killed or expelled and the troubling knowledge of the crimes of the Nazi Empire on the one hand, the hatred and contempt of foreign nations on the other, – all this forced Germans to confront the question of who they were and what should become of them and their country. Against this background, Konrad Adenauer emerged as the most important politician of West Germany. He took up the general feeling among Germans that under the rule of Hitler they had become the victims of political criminals, just as if the regime had not been able to rely on the Germans’ widespread approval and their willingness to take part. This narrative can be termed a narrative of the centre ground in the sense that it corresponded to the thinking of the broad centre ground of German society. Adenauer used his exculpatory formula to free Germany from the stain of the Nazi period and to restore it to its historical position as a great power.

Up to now no comprehensive analysis of the development of Adenauer’s narrative has been forthcoming, covering his key communications from the whole of the post-war period down to his death in 1967. So as to make a meaningful selection of texts, four key historical periods over the entire twenty years have been singled out to highlight Adenauer’s attitude towards the German past. The first ten months following the end of the war (1945-46) are the period in which Adenauer gives clear expression to the guilt of the German people. Between 1949 and 1953, during his first period of office as Federal Chancellor, Adenauer tried to “draw a line” under the past. This prompts an examination of his first Government Policy Statement of 1949 and his reparations policy. In 1959-60, the vandalizing of Jewish property forced Adenauer to revert publicly to the question of anti-Semitism. In 1966, as former Chancellor, Adenauer visited Israel. His trip there enables us to draw up the balance-sheet of his life’s work and provides some insight into the background of his narrative of history.

Publication (in English): Volker Wild and Jan Ferdinand: …Not by the German people, but in the name of the German people. Adenauer and the Narrative of the Centre Ground, in: Przegląd Zachodni 3 (372) 2019: 221-248.

Top

abgeschlossen | Projekte Kommentare deaktiviert

Adenauer und das ,Narrativ der Mitte´

Print Friendly

Icon_52_Rand_orange

Die Studie rekonstruiert die Entwicklung des historischen Narrativs Konrad Adenauers, das dieser in seiner öffentlichen Aussagen über den Nationalsozialismus und die Rolle der Deutsche  kommuniziert hat. Es kommt in der knappen Formel zum Ausdruck, dass die Untaten des NS-Regimes „nicht durch das deutsche Volk, aber im Namen des deutschen Volkes“ begangen worden seien. In diesen wenigen Worten verdichtet sich der inhaltliche Kern einer historischen Erzählung, die lange Zeit in der westdeutschen Politik Konsens war.

Das Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges stürzte die deutsche Gesellschaft in eine tiefe Identitätskrise. Der Untergang des Reiches, die Spaltung des Landes, die Städte in Trümmern, Millionen Gefallene und Vertriebene, das Wissen um die Verbrechen des Nazireiches, auf der anderen Seite Hass und Verachtung des Auslandes, – all das stellte die Deutschen vor die Frage, wer sie sind und was mit ihnen und ihrem Land werden soll. Vor diesem Hintergrund wird Konrad Adenauer zur wichtigsten politischen Bezugsfigur der westdeutschen Bevölkerung. Er griff das  allgemeine Gefühl der Deutschen auf, dass sie unter der Herrschaft der Nazis die Opfer politischer Krimineller geworden waren, so als habe das Regime sich nicht auf die weit verbreitere Zustimmung der Deutschen und ihre Bereitschaft mitzumachen, verlassen können. Dieses Narrativ kann als ,Narrativ der Mitte‘ insofern bezeichnet werden, als dass es dem Selbstverständnis breiter Teile der Nachkriegsgesellschaft entgegenkam. Adenauer nutzte die exkulpierende Formel von den Verbrechen, die nicht von den Deutschen, sondern nur in ihrem Namen begangen worden waren, um Deutschland von der Schande der Nazizeit zu befreien und seine historische Stellung als Großmacht wiederherzustellen.

Eine explizite und umfassende Analyse der Entwicklung von Adenauers Narrativ in Auseinandersetzung mit zentralen Reden über die gesamte Nachkriegszeit bis zu seinem Tode 1967 ist bisher nicht vorgelegt worden. Um eine sinnvolle Auswahl der Texte zu treffen, werden verteilt über den ganzen Zeitraum von zwanzig Jahren vier historische Schnittpunkte festgelegt, an denen Adenauers Haltung zur deutschen Vergangenheit in besonderer Weise deutlich wird, so dass es möglich ist, die Äußerungen in ihrem Gesamtverlauf zu rekonstruieren. Ausgewählt wurden die ersten zehn Monate nach Kriegsende 1945/46, in denen sich Adenauer deutlich zur Schuld des deutschen Volkes äußert. 1949 bis 1953, in seiner ersten Amtszeit als Bundeskanzlers, versucht Adenauer die Vergangenheit „abzuschließen“. Dazu werden seine erste Regierungserklärung 1949 und seine Wiedergutmachungspolitik untersucht. 1959/60 zwingt die Schändung jüdischer Einrichtungen Adenauer dazu, sich öffentlich zum Antisemitismus zu äußern. 1966 besucht der Altkanzler Israel. Die Reise dient der Bilanzierung seines Lebenswerks und gibt Einblicke in die Zusammenhänge seines Geschichtsnarrativs frei.

 Veröffentlichung: Volker Wild and Jan Ferdinand: …Not by the German people, but in the name of the German people. Adenauer and the Narrative of the Centre Ground, in: Przegląd Zachodni 3 (372) 2019: 221-248.

Top